Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Artic Chill December 23, 2010

Filed under: Awards!,poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 3:42 am

Stepping into my room is like entering Antarctica
A lone island separated and cold
The temperature drops from the rest of the house
And I wonder if I wouldn’t rather have the smaller, warmer place.

After all, Hawaii attracts more people than Antarctica ever did.

But in the daytime the polar ice caps create
There are mountainous regions to explore
With frozen tundra of which I am the lone inhabitant
Surrounded by a sea-filled multitude of ideas.

I watch the blue whales frolic in the corkscrew crest of foam.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

Thank you Jingle for the Perfect Poet award of week 35!

For week 36 I would like to nominate The Fool’s Back Pocket.  A wonderful poet with a fresh sense of the world, please visit!

 

20 Responses to “Artic Chill”

  1. Jingle Says:

    r0013 nominated you on week 34,
    Glad to see you accept it,

    if you wish to add this piece to poets rally, comment for 18 within 7 days, let me know.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

    lovely words in your poem, sad yet well put.
    keep it up.
    best wishes for 2011.

  2. Glad you liked my blog. Dug a round a bit, read here & there on your blog, checked it out. Good developing voice you have. (I mean your poetry, not your actual voice lol) Anyhow keep up the writing, I will drop back by at one point or another to see what you’ve been writing. Take it easy duder, it’s cold out today.

    crb.

  3. brian Says:

    ha. i love the close on this one…the whales…very nice…scoop a few of those ideas up to carry with you when you walk out the door…smiles.

  4. meirozavian Says:

    Surrounded by a sea-filled multitude of ideas.

    I like this part, lovely.

  5. Sumit Sarkar Says:

    Beautiful imagination…
    Very creative work 🙂

  6. […] of the soul: https://laurenmichelleotheim.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/artic-chill/#comments (done, […]

  7. […] Poetry of the soul: https://laurenmichelleotheim.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/artic-chill/#comments […]

  8. L Says:

    I really enjoyed this poem. I often think of my room as my safe haven where I am alone with my thoughts.

  9. Jingle Says:

    Greetings!

    I invite you to become a participant at Thursday Poets Rally Week 36…

    This is a golden opportunity for you to make NEW poetic friends, and have your talent directly exposed to a community of talented poets..

    Hope to see you in, Happy Friday, best wishes for the year of 2011.

    an old poem will work …

    xoxox

  10. Very vivid. I think wherever one lives, one often longs to be elsewhere. Even Hawaii gets old, I’m (mostly) sure! 🙂 By the way, I have two “Snuggies” to send your way – won in a “dirty Santa” gift exchange. 🙂

  11. I liked your first few lines of the poem. Beautiful write. I enjoy the irony in the comparison of what people enjoy and then what the situation is.


Leave a Reply

