Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Once Upon A Pair Of Skinny Jeans August 12, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 12:10 am

She put them on, one leg at a time
Feeling the power surge through her body
Unconquerable and dressed to kill
Topped off with a pair of heels

Step through the door of the club
Click-clack Clickety-clack Click-clack
(that’s her heels in case you forgot she was wearing them)
Her head held high above the world

Sitting down at the bar she felt eyes
So many eyes looking at her
Glancing around she sees her insignificance
Uncomfortable, uneasy

She laughs with her friends
Talking about all the unimportant things
A night out for fun, to erase the memories in her head
She smiles at a stranger across the room

The questions cloud her mind
And she almost forgets to breathe
She forgets where she is clouded and claustrophobic
Refocuses on the smile from across the room

Why am I here? a wave
My life is up in smoke, a joke
I don’t know what I want, a walk
I am so confused. an introduction

I want to forget

“You know,” he says, “I think I have the same pair of skinny jeans.”

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

34 Responses to “Once Upon A Pair Of Skinny Jeans”

  1. revbillcook Says:

    Seriously good and well written. Perceptive, compassionate, even funny in places, yet managing to say something engaging and not to get lost in sentimentality I enjoy this very much. – Bill

  2. deadpoet88 Says:

    Great piece! Really unexpected end, and cleverly written.

  3. Jingle Says:

    breathe taking,
    very vivid descriptions..
    love your talent here…
    Welcome in,
    Have fun visiting!
    🙂

  4. richard Says:

    nice poem. it reminds me something.. 🙂

  5. mairmusic Says:

    A funny verse full of conflicting thoughts arriving at… a beginning?
    Nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  6. Very unexpected, but quite penetrating and insightful. Well done.

    Regards…

  7. Morganna Says:

    Fantastic. This is great stuff. I love the ending.

  8. tasithoughts Says:

    An exercise in deep thought

  9. Curtis Says:

    That guy must be a scene kid. Anyway, great poem!

  10. pamela Says:

    Fantastic I really enjoyed this!
    Pamela

  11. barrycyrus Says:

    you write best! as always 🙂

  12. trisha Says:

    fantastic poem. loved the scene you painted. you truly are awesome.

  13. Oh I love clever stuff…this is great!

  14. dancingfreak Says:

    lol 🙂

    wow!! she must be so confused 😛

  15. Leonnyes Says:

    breathtaking… a narration in verse… this is wonderful. 🙂

  16. Luke Prater Says:

    Nice write. Like yr blog… I think we have met before in this crazy blogsphere? Keep writin’

    Warmest Salad

    Luke

  17. trisha Says:

    seems everyone is holidaying! 🙂

  18. trisha Says:

    are you ok?

    take care my friend.

    • Dear wonderful Trisha, I’m am perfectly fine. I had a finals week for my summer classes last week and since then have had a crazy work schedule and a cold. The cold is on the way out, though, now I believe! I hope you are having a wonderful day!

  19. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/sunday-160-i-gaze-at-trees-in-breeze/

    thanks for voting….

    please help visit 2 or 3 links to offer Happy (Belated) Birthday wishes to poets in our community.
    Cheers!

  20. Joe Suzz Says:

    that is so sad. we all have something or someone we want to forget.
    the ending is what got me.
    Beautifully done.
    _Joe

  21. I have read this a few times now… What memories do you want to forget? Just curious. Be Inspired Today! Love and Light, Sender

  22. william Says:

    lol brilliant, you created something superb here 🙂

  23. Kavita Says:

    Woohhooo.. this was gooooddd!!!
    What a read!!! Made me think all kindsa things… and then… the unexpected end!!! 😀 Loved it!

  24. 83October Says:

    You had me at the title. And I love the humor and image of the first two stanzas. The ending was a nice touch to the poem.

  25. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/happy-birthday-2-lisa-plus-happy-belated/

    help giving happy belated birthday wishes to 5 to 10 poets,
    take the butterfly award,
    enjoy!

    please return favors to those who were here for you.
    🙂

  26. This one made my day. Great poem, and I love your reading of the last line!

  27. kelleygrrl Says:

    Great poem! Now, if I could only fit into a pair of skinny jeans….

    Love, Kelley….I wish you enough!

  28. Jingle Says:

    I see you getting more comments last week,
    miss you in Rally week 28.
    let me know after you post a fresh one…
    cheers!

  29. adkwriter15 Says:

    So amazing!!! It’s so funny that I just read this, because I was just wearing my skinny jeans myself :D. So many of your poems I just instantly relate to! You’ve got a beautiful way with words every time!

  30. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/thursday-poets-rally-week-30/

    welcome to Poets Rally week 30,
    let me know if you have a poem ready,
    Thanks for the support.

  31. […] Once Upon A Pair Of Skinny Jeans August 201033 comments and 3 Likes on WordPress.com Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)OK, Fess Up, Who is it?   Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

