Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

maple tree me July 19, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 8:06 pm

dappled sunlight coming through the blinds
i blink, close my eyes again
curl up knees beneath my chin
i pretend i am underneath my maple tree
a wooden swing sways above me
warm dirt and grass tickle my toes
from blankets how it grows nobody knows
a breeze blows from the sky of my ceiling fan
brushing my skin of the over-head light tan
and i str-e-e-etch arms above my head
reaching beyond the realms of my bed
feet tangled like roots below
hidden from the morning afterglow
they thirst for warmth which they suck
down down down from the depths they’ve been tucked
i feel the rough tingly bark of my skin
over which I’ve let lengths of hair spin
as lichen around my knobby elbows
the door clicks and down i burrow
quick, pretend you’re asleep!

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

18 Responses to “maple tree me”

  1. buttercup600 Says:

    A wonderful and fun poem…made me smile. What would life be without imagination!! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ Hugs x

  2. brian Says:

    it is one of our greatest assets…a wonderful verse…full of fantastic textures…whimsical, playful. i like it.

  3. adkwriter15 Says:

    You’re imagery here is AMAZING! Great poem!

  4. curtisbell Says:

    I really like the sylvan imagery in this poem. It makes me feel like I’m walking through a sunlit forest.

  5. DiamondsAndDogs Says:

    Lovely! Your descriptions were a sensory treat.

    Regards…

  6. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/thursday-poets-rally-week-25-july-22-july-28/
    Rally week 25 is on,
    please place a link under the post above when you are ready,
    cheers!

  7. williewizzy Says:

    I wish to hide at your maple tree! I might see ents! (Huorns)

  8. Great poem! I also listened to you read it, and enjoyed that too!
    and i str-e-e-etch arms above my head
    reaching beyond the realms of my bed
    feet tangled like roots below
    hidden from the morning afterglow
    My favorite lines in your poem!


Leave a Reply

