Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Let Me Count The Ways June 11, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 12:24 am

How do I miss you, my love?

I could say that I miss you as the grass misses the dirt

Or as the flower misses the sun

But those seem so much like a sonnet

Or some other whimsy ideal.

Neither of which am I.

I, my dear, miss you

Like the force that pushes the wave to shore

I cannot swim away but I am drawn to you.

Even the lighthouse calls me home to you.

I am drawn to your beauty.

I see your strength in the mountains

And I feel the way you hold me in the valleys

Snuggled in the nook of your arm

As I roll over to kiss you.

I am locked in your embrace.

I am all yours and I do not waver

Even as I am trapped far away

As if on a distant island I thirst for your love

Dehydrated by the many miles between us.

I am steadfast in your affection.

If only I could make you feel

The ardency with which I miss you

You would never doubt my longing

You would never question my fervor.

I am enchanted by your every move.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

Thank you to this wonderful woman at mairmusic who nominated me for the perfect poet award at Jingle’s rally!  I am so

appreciative and grateful for the positive attention and what a compliment this is!

Thank you once again!

 

16 Responses to “Let Me Count The Ways”

  1. ishabelle Says:

    it reminds me of Elizabeth Barrett Browning (and I mean that as a compliment)… so nice!!!!!

  2. Jingle Says:

    lovely emotions and thank you for the acceptance of the perfect poet award..
    let me know a poet you wish to nominate…
    many thanks!
    😉

  3. brian Says:

    so you miss this person a lot eh? smiles.

    nicely done…i hope they see it.

  4. D.S. Lear Says:

    Perfect score you have counted it beautifully!

  5. Wonderful poem! 🙂

  6. Ms. Peaches Says:

    Lauren this peace is beautiful I’m glad your a part of Jingles rally

    plz check me out as well

    http://peachpitproduction.wordpress.com “Overturned”

    Thanks! looking forward to checking you out in the future!

  7. Gaurav Sharma Says:

    Really very nice !!!
    loved reading it !! 🙂

    can u please visit my blog
    http://gauravsharma05f.wordpress.com/

  8. mairmusic Says:

    you are welcome for the nomination! I think this is the first time I’ve read “dehydrated’ in a love poem 🙂 I like your broad reach in language.
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  9. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/thursday-poets-rally-week-22-poetry-awards-more/

    two poetry awards,
    4 general blogging awards for you.
    Thank you for the contributions on poetry and blogging friendship.

  10. hoiden Says:

    i love the metaphors…lovely poem:)
    http://hoiden.wordpress.com/

  11. Joe Suzz Says:

    perfect emotion.
    I really like these lines. it is like a line from the Psalm of Solomon.
    “I see your strength in the mountains
    And I feel the way you hold me in the valleys”
    well done!
    -Joe

  12. trisha Says:

    simply adorable. you portrayed all the passions of a deep, warm love. 🙂

    i have a small gift for you, http://window2mysoul.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/magic-touch-award/
    please accept it.

    congratulations for the very well deserved award.

  13. Jingle Says:

    uly 1, 2010 at 2:58 pm (Edit)

    Welcome to Thursday Poets Rally Week 24, here is what you do to participate:

    First, please read the questions and respond:

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/agreement-between-jingle-and-thursday-poets-rally-participants/

    Then, Post an original poem in your own blog, and place your link in under the following post to participate:
    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/thursday-poets-rally-week-24-july-1-7-2010/

    Now, visit and comment for a minimum 18 poets from week 24 participants list, after you are done, comment to let Jingle know, you are in perfect shape then…

    Awards are given by Jingle via notifications….

    Make sure that you: return favors to poets who have visited your blog
    Have visited 18 poets NEW to you.

    Thank You for the attention.
    Happy Thursday!
    Happy Poetry Reading and writing!

  14. Bandan Says:

    This was truly inspiring and deep. Keep writing 🙂

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Gotham has Batman.NewYork has Spiderman and India has…
    Story of an Indian Superhero

    http://bitsbj.blogspot.com/2010/07/true-story-of-indian-superhero.html

  15. 1ntrospector Says:

    Truly an enchanting poem


Leave a Reply

