Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

The wish May 31, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 5:21 pm

I wish upon a marigold

for adventures to unfold

and strength enough  to make me bold

as I go traipsing round the world

and obstacles my way are hurled

by wind that past my head has swirled

as if it must fight against the dawn

and create a night through a yawn

until I fight the darkness gone

I wish upon a blade of grass

for a dream that’s made of glass

and tells the darkness it will pass

and I awake with stary eyes

as I have shed my self of sighs

beneath the deep expansive skies

and I will stretch my arms and laugh

at clouds above shaped like giraffe

until I spy and wander down a path

I wish upon an apple tree

with star-shaped golden seeds

and bright green leaves

for weather that is light and fair

and a lover that will meet me there

beneath the dappled light we’ll make a pair

and we’ll hold hands the whole day long

and feel as if nothing can go wrong

until the birds do end their song

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

16 Responses to “The wish”

  1. brian Says:

    ha. very playfu verse…may all your wishes come true…

  2. Jingle Says:

    beautiful wishes!
    May all your wishes come true!

  3. Joe Suzz Says:

    i really like this one. this made me smile. I think i’m gonna read it again. i hope you wishes do come true. :] -joe

  4. trisha Says:

    just lovely- what a beautiful expression of optimism and beauty.

  5. jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/poetry-awards-4-week-21-participants-and-fresh-poets/

    three poetry awards,
    two general awards.
    Happy Saturday!
    Thank you for attending and leading!

  6. Joe Suzz Says:

    yep, this is one of my favorites. there’s just something about adventures and a marigold that make great lines to unfold:] this poem is so light hearted and fun that it is kind of catchy. but i dont want to beat a dead horse, just wanted to say kudos on an awesome poem.

  7. Jingle Says:

    ttp://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/thursday-poets-rally-week-21-the-perfect-poet-award/

    week 21 the perfect poet award reminder,
    also,
    we require a minimum visits to 18 poets to be done for Rally from week 22 to week 42.
    Thank you in advance!
    😉

  8. Jingle Says:

    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/06/magpie-tale-18-voice-of-pencils.html

    welcome to sign up to follow Jingle officially,
    comment for the poem,
    pick up awards from previous post.
    have fun being part of our loving community.
    Smiles!

  9. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/poetry-awards-4-thursday-poets-rally-week-24/

    please take all 5 awards and enjoy…
    keep visiting and following!
    😉

    please do find time visiting poets,
    it only takes about one hour or so to get done.
    Cheers!
    😉


Leave a Reply

