Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Yesterday May 29, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 12:52 am

somehow came to a burnt-out crisp end of the match smell sunset
I’m still waiting for the sunrise.
so many happy birthday’s how are you’s I hope your day’s going well’s
and yet I never heard the one I wanted.
you would think of all days in the year that this one he would call
it’s not so much to ask, is it?
yesterday was precisely 41 minutes ago and still I can’t sleep 41 minutes
since I would normally have gone to bed.
the light is on in my room and I am trying to only think about all the fun
things I did today and friends.
I think I like them best and I am angry angry angry at him that he
couldn’t take more effort just today.
but I’m not and that’s almost worse because not being angry at him
makes me angry angry angry at me.
now I can’t sleep because my watery insides are broiling with things
that can’t come out won’t come out.
I went out for lunch today and I think that was good, that was good
and I saw friends we talked, that was all.
Two presents and oh yes they were lovely thank you but I still didn’t
get the one thing I wanted which
I couldn’t even touch if I wanted to and my light is still on and I should
really try to sleep now, I should really try to sleep now.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

14 Responses to “Yesterday”

  1. brian Says:

    happy birthday! sleep well…and may your present still find you…when it is time….

  2. Joe Suzz Says:

    happy birthday. i hope it works outs. i know it aint easy at times when someone you care about disappoints you. hang in there:]
    I really liked the first two line by the way:] “somehow came to a burnt-out crisp end of the match smell sunset
    Iā€™m still waiting for the sunrise.” it is packed full of meaning and sums up the whole poem in two lines.

  3. Jingle Says:

    Happy Birthday!
    rest well, live well!

  4. I liked your poem, full of emotion! (Well actually I wish it was more happy!) Hope your days get better and you eventually get that gift!

  5. Jingle Says:

    Happy Sunday,
    please visit other poets back to check what’s new,
    stay tuned,
    be happy.

  6. Menina Says:

    Happy belated Birthday! This is a wonderful piece of work. The first line is so lyrical.

  7. trisha Says:

    there are days like this in life. happy belated birthday!


Leave a Reply

