Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

There was always a hand May 27, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 12:25 am

to catch my fall
when i lost my balance
roller-blading in the park
that day, do you remember?,
how i leaned up against the brick
wall for stability? And you lifted me
from the ground, my legs sliding farther
and farther until i looked like a calf learning
how to walk for the first time except on wheels.
i almost gave up that day, it hurt when i
scraped my hand on the pavement and
i think i cried a little, not much, but it
was enough to get your attention.
there you were, hand at the
ready pushing me back to
go! but sometimes i still
fall and then i wish the
hand pushing me
wasn’t mine.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

22 Responses to “There was always a hand”

  1. i liked the way you portrayed this one…

  2. brian Says:

    i was feeling all kinda good and got to that last line…i wish as well…

  3. Jingle Says:

    very well done,
    thanks for the contribution!

  4. cortnij Says:

    I love living in memories like these! And I love poems with a twist, that ending catches you off guard.

  5. I loved the rhythm, thought and elegance of this poem. You make it look easy. I also love the meaning behind it. I always remember someone who has helped me, especially when I do that thing they helped me with. It’s painful when they are no longer there to care because they have moved on. Sometimes we just move on past experience after we have gained it beyond the person themselves.

  6. mairmusic Says:

    Ah. An engaging story with a kindof sad yet mysterious ending. nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  7. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    this one remains me so of when my dad was teaching me ride a 2 wheel bike…falling, falling and being picked up until I finally made it…then I grew up and their was no one there to pick me up when I fell, but I lived and I learned…….thank you for your story……..blessings…bkm

  8. Tim Keeton Says:

    Very nice.

    Thanks for sharing. I hope you will visit my sites:

    Tim Keeton – A Writer’s Tale

    and

    The Undead Poets Society

    Rhyme on!

    Tim Keeton
    (Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales
    A Week 19 Perfect Poet Award Winner

  9. joanny Says:

    Interesting concept here — memories flooding back and yearning for that lost love one to be near, so tenderly told.

    came by jingle today,

    Joanny

  10. Lou Says:

    Heya,

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. This Jingle thing has introduced me to a thriving world of poetry blogging I didn’t even know existed! Keep writing, you’ve got talent.

    -lou

    • Isn’t it wonderful!?! I was so excited when I discovered Jingle and her poetry rally! I had never realized that so many people loved poetry as much I do until then. Thank you so much!

  11. Jingle Says:

    excellent job for this week!


Leave a Reply

