Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

P.S. May 19, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 11:45 pm

I just remembered
that you have a
smile I can’t do without
and I think I have
your laugh on loan
for a little while
but when I give it back
could you please
stop by on occasion
so I can hear it? Also
I need your hands so
mine don’t get cold
but just for a little
while because eventually
the sun will come out
but don’t forget to
return in the evening
with your arms since
I might need to feel
like the world isn’t
quite so big as it
seems right now. Oh
and your toes are
currently keeping mine
company so don’t
neglect to take
them with you on
your way out.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

25 Responses to “P.S.”

  1. brian Says:

    nice. i like the playfulness of this one…

  2. bryan Says:

    This is fantastico! Took me a moment to get the rhythm, but once I got it I really liked the flow.

    -bryan

    (BTW I fixed your URL mistake on my comments @ http://www.secretbasketofeggs.com )

  3. Jingle Says:

    creative and fun!

  4. mairmusic Says:

    I love the surprises in focus that happen line by line in this– nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

  5. signed .............bkm Says:

    I love the concept of the whole poem — my favorite is the “your laugh on loan” amazing how the sound of someone’s laughter soothes the soul……….bkm

  6. I agree with Brian that this is playful. It makes me think of happy days of just being with someone you love or like a lot. Great job.

  7. Ji Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/the-celebrate-poet-of-april-award-announcement-and-more/

    The Celebrate Poet of April Runner-up Award
    plus
    two more on the bottom….
    Happy Tuesday!
    😉

  8. Lovely poem. I really enjoy the tenor and voice of you poems.
    I love this line

    and I think I have
    your laugh on loan
    for a little while

    Check out some of my longer poems at

    http://www.psychologyofsex.wordpress.com

    Cheers to you Lauren Michelle.

    Christopher Anthony

  9. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/29/week-20-poets-rally-poetry-awards-plus/

    three poetry awards,
    two general awards,
    enjoy!
    Thank you for the invaluable contribution in Thursday Poets Rally week 20.
    U Rock!
    😉

  10. Mike Says:

    Great, great poem. I love the wording of having someone’s laugh on loan.

  11. luiscongdon Says:

    I really like the line: “and I think I have
    your laugh on loan”

    Reading your comments, sounds like I am not the only one.

    I enjoyed the rhythm of the poem too.
    http://www.lovelikewater.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

