Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Faith is a gift from God March 29, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 2:48 pm

What does faith give to the

One Republic for which I

Stand above it all waiting

For the world to change

As I catch a falling star and

Put it in saving in case of

Natural disasters affect

Thousands of children are

Dying of Aids so we wear

Pink and jog laps around

You so don’t think you

Can do it America wants only

You can prevent forest

Fired for sleeping with a

Woman’s choice bill chosen

You Pikachu with my poké-

Ball rolling down hill at

Age fifty the story of my

Life is a gift from God so

Don’t screw it up.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

18 Responses to “Faith is a gift from God”

  1. ishabelle Says:

    if only we could actually catch a falling star and keep it with us… *wink*

  2. laurenmichelleotheim Says:

    so true! 🙂

  3. trisha Says:

    Wonderful and wise words. I share your irony.

  4. mairmusic Says:

    VERY nice! Reminds me somewhat of ee cummings “next of course to god america i” Your use of the rushed phrase is spot on.

    • laurenmichelleotheim Says:

      Thank you so much! I had actually just read that very poem and wanted to play around with the idea of it. I thought it would be interesting to write a poem of that style for today’s generation and see what came out. 😀

  5. waystationone Says:

    i keep a fallen star in my pocket, because i believe…
    marvelouly done!

  6. nanno1982 Says:

    Sweet Lauren
    I have an Over The Top award for you 🙂
    http://nohaemile.wordpress.com/2010/02/17/more-happy-awards/
    Happy Easter

  7. warriorpoetess Says:

    Loved your style, and great message in it as well.’

    ~warriorpoetess

  8. Ji Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/the-celebrate-poet-of-march-award-announcement-for-nominations/lease check your spam folder by click on my dashboard, some of my comments have been there…
    😉

    • laurenmichelleotheim Says:

      I couldn’t find my spam filter, but I have it set to accept all comments… I hope I didn’t miss any!

  9. wordwand Says:

    a noble message , lovely style : a great poem.


Leave a Reply

