Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

People Passing February 13, 2010

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 4:45 pm

The sunshine bathes streets in gold,

Illuminates the stories that go untold.

People walking here and there

Paint pictures with their feet.

The lives they live and the lives they change

Only begin with the people that they meet.

So much to do and so much to see

Yet we walk in circles

Making spirals

Still content just to be.

What happened to the passion?

What happened to the dreams?

What happened to the life we lived

Stretching beyond the seams?

How did we become complacent?

Willing to walk when we could dance?

How did you lose your morals?

When did you drop your stance?

You try to hide the hope that died

But I can smell the stench.

Why do you sit there, waiting still?

Life won’t start sitting on a bench

Get out and live,

Play for a day,

Refresh,

Remember who you are.

Remember God,

Remember love,

And if you must, wish upon a star.

For I have heard that they are Angel eyes,

So let’s give them a show.

And I will let you hold my hand

If you promise to love me so.

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

8 Responses to “People Passing”

  1. Jon Says:

    Wow! I love this! Oh really, I wish the church would wake up, if not the world. What happened to passion beyond money, to vision for change. Excellent poetry Lauren, excellent thought and vision. I am glad to see that passion is not dead in all of us, after all – it transforms living into life.

  2. laurenmichelleotheim Says:

    Thank you, Jon! That means a lot!

  3. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/the-14th-sunshine-award/

    glad to get here.
    I was careless when I visit u previously…
    hope that u enjoy a sunshine award from me,
    😉

  4. artiste7 Says:

    I really liked this one–well done! It’s so apropos.

  5. laurenmichelleotheim Says:

    Thank you! I really appreciate the feedback!

  6. wordwand Says:

    hi , you are in my blogroll , so I offer you a star award that you deserve , check it out in my blog as well as the rule to accept it.


Leave a Reply

