Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Don’t you know? December 22, 2009

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 5:51 pm

Don’t you know, Don’t you know

That this isn’t just about the snow

Don’t you know, Don’t you know

That this coldness that I’m feeling isn’t just about the weather

Don’t you know, Don’t you know

That the coldness in my bones and that’s gripping at your heart

Is because, Is because

Baby we’re breaking apart.

I feel it in between my sheets

As I try so hard to sleep

But I can’t, cuz all my dreaming is you

And I don’t know where to go

I’ve got this ache within my soul

And I don’t know, how to tell you

To put it into words

To trust my thoughts then to purge

I don’t know if I can

Feels like I’m trying so hard

(c) Lauren Otheim – 2009

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

2 Responses to “Don’t you know?”

  1. jon Says:

    Lol, haven’t read these before! Pleasant surprise. Do you ever write music? I like this, very raw emotion, personal. The rhythm of your wording feels very musical, as if I’m reading lyrics. I like the metaphor alot, great job. Very thoughtful! However, i hope the feeling that inspired has passed, it doesn’t sound very pleasant though it made a great poem =]

  2. laurenmichelleotheim Says:

    This was actually written to be lyrics, the biggest problem is that I know what melody I want and I can never think of any instrumental background. *sigh* apparently music theory and ear training didn’t fulfill their purpose… lol


Leave a Reply

