Poetry of the Soul

Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn. ~Thomas Gray

Lay Me Down To Rest October 20, 2009

Filed under: poetry — laurenmichelleotheim @ 7:41 pm

What war is this

That tender takes

The bleeding lost of love?

The innocent

And pure of heart

Fly deftly as a dove,

Aloft to heaven’s

Open gates

Too early sent above.

And as they lift

I hear some sing

Of children lost

On angels’ wing

And Hope’s tattered veil

Torn once again

As some take thread

And begin to mend.

But what of fabric

Scared and frayed?

Battered till ’twill no more braid?

How patches patch a patch that fade

To lift up more than one has prayed.

I cross myself and lay me still

And if deep slumber

Have it’s will

I pray that breath

Be swift to leave

And new life waits

Upon the eve.

To live a life

That’s bought and sold

We’ve bartered till

I’ve grown too old.

And Death’s swift kiss

Upon my cheek

Signifies what’s left

To seek.

The golden light

That’s glinted still

Finds darkness

It has yet to fill

And where these meet

I away,

Until the break of a new day.

Set in stone

And labeled well

I snuggle into

Which I fell

And with tired bones

And sagging flesh

Now He’ll lay me

Down to rest.

(c) Lauren Otheim ā€“ 2009

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Software

 

2 Responses to “Lay Me Down To Rest”

  1. CHRIS Says:

    This one is quite good too : ) I kinda prefer the other one about dancing in the moonlight than this one about death and such, but great job English major!

  2. laurenmichelleotheim Says:

    Thank you! Haha, well, they are quite different poems. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

